Oil change on Universal M40 -- what am I doing wrong?

c.gustafson

Member II
Hello, Mates. This last weekend, I started the process of changing the oil on my Universal M40 ('87 Ericson 38-200). I have a Jabsco oil change pump that I use to remove the old oil by inserting the clear plastic tube down the opening where the oil dip stick goes. The problem I ran into is that I only got about 4-5 quarts of oil out of the oil pan. I initially inserted the plastic tube about the same length/depth as the oil dip stick -- and then when the oil stopped flowing, I tried a little deeper but didn't seem to result in more oil being sucked out. When I put the oil dip stick back in, the dipstick shows that there is still oil. Any words of wisdom on what I'm doing wrong? Must be something simple that I'm missing. As always, many thanks for your assistance.

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
What is the oil capacity of your engine model? My (former) 1988 Universal M25XP (four quarts of oil) already had the optional banjo fitting installed on the oil pan drain with the hose led up beside the engine, when we bought our boat. That made it pretty easy to put the suction tube down to the bottom to vacuum all the oil out. Something to look into, perhaps?

Last edited:

c.gustafson

Member II
Thanks, Loren. The service manual says oil capacity in the Universal M40 is 8.0 -- 8.5 quarts. I'll double check to see whether there is a drain hose on the oil pan, but I didn't see it this past weekend.

Bob Robertson

Member III
I've got a 1988 38=200 just like yours. There is a separate oil drain hose that connects to the oil pan and runs up the left side of the engine / the opposite side of the engine from the dip stick. I have fittings that I can screw into the top of the drain hose and then use my oil change pump extractor to pump the oil out of the engine.
8.5 quarts is the correct number.

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author