Purchasing 1st Boat in Chicago Area

ccantaga

My father and I are getting ready to buy a sailboat and I could certainly use some advice. My father used to sail until family pressure convinced him to sell the sailboat for a ski boat. He is getting ready to retire now, and I am wanting to begin cruising and doing some racing. I have very little sailing experience.

I began looking at the 25'-30' range but found a relatively local E-35 Mk II for what seems to be a reasonable price.

My very first question is whether or not I would be foolish start off with a boat this large. I am planning to take a sailing class to learn what I can once the weather permits, but will this be enough?

Second, can anyone that owns one of these comment a bit on what anual maintenance I can expect to do? I am not as concerned with repairs that will be immediately needed since I would have the boat surveyed and should be able to get an idea of the work that is needed. I'm more interested in how long sails, rigging, etc. normally last and what replacement costs would be.

Thanks in advance,
Chris

Skip Jim

Member II
If you start out with a smaller boat and you use it a lot, you will soon be looking at larger boats. The 35 is very comfortable to sail and has a lot more room to spread out and enjoy yourself, especially if you are staying overnight on the boat or cruising long distances.

Sailing the larger boat is not a lot different than sailing the smaller boats, except it is harder to sail by yourself, but can be done. You can learn to sail and if you get nervous with either size boat, you can drop sails and use the motor.