Handrail varnish

dhill

Member III
Hi,

I am new to varnishing and have some lighter spots on my outside handrails that I would like to address. I don't see any cracking happening, so I was wondering whether I need to remove the existing varnish completely just at the lighter area or do I need to strip the varnish for the entire handrail and start from scratch.

handrail varnish.jpg

Any advice would be great!

Thanks!
Dave

Pete the Cat

Sustaining Member
It depends on how much you want to do now and how much you want to do later. Also, if you cover your boat or if it is in the sun. If you want it to last in the sun you need to take it down to wood with hand sanding (this is the way Hinckley does it) and lay down a couple diluted 50/50 varnish coats to soak into the wood. Otherwise moisture will soon turn things black or dark from the inside out over time. If you want it to last and if it is in the sun, you would put down 5 or 6 coats and sand very lightly between coats. Tape off the wood so you do not get it on the rest of the boat--varnish is a bitch to remove when it dries. Then you have a base that will last a few years. You can quickly do a coat in the Spring each year after that and it should keep up for several years. You are going to get a lot of different views on this. Most folks are looking for a short cut or magic product. I find the real stuff is not that difficult to use if you are willing to learn. And not much more work than the magic stuff in my experience. The charter boats in the Caribbean swear by Epifanes products because they have very good UV filters though the stuff is expensive.