E29 vs E35 mk II

Dwaynesjohnson

I am trying to decide between buying two boats. I am a novice (owned small sailboat years ago, and have taken basic keelboat course but that is about it). I plan on getting a dock on Lake Erie and hopefully improve my skills over the next 3-5 years so, enough (I hope) to do some costal cruising. I have read a far amount about the E35 mark II, the only "downside" on that boat is the Gas Atomic 4 that came standard (before 1973 I think), and it seems to sometimes be get a soft deck (that may be with a lot of boats). I haven't been able to find much on the E29 (1979), anyone have anything they could share with me about the E29 (or E35 mark ii) especially your opinion concerning blue water capabilities. Also, if you have any thoughts on why the E35 ii doesn't,to seem to be on anyone's top blue water boats? Since it won 2004 transpacific race I thought I would see it mentioned as a top blue water boat (cruising world did give it a great review). Thanks.

Frank Langer

1984 Ericson 30+, Nanaimo, BC
So I'm wondering why you are looking at these two boats that are quite different, and haven't mentioned the E32s, E30, E34, etc., all of which are also very good boats (I'm a little biased towards the E30+ because we have one and love how it sails! :egrin:)

I've always heard that it's really important before buying a boat to determine carefully what key attributes you are wanting in size, layout, comforts below deck and significant equipment,etc. Also, primary use for the boat--in our case we feel a bit crowded a couple weeks per year when we have guests aboard our E30+ but the rest of the time the size is great, especially as I do a lot of single handing, so it doesn't make sense for us to buy a larger boat to address our space issues of those two weeks. As well, the larger the boat, the more expensive it is for moorage, equipment, sails, etc.