batteries and A4

steven

Sustaining Member
I'm considering upgrading my battery banks with somewhat higher capacity. Can an A4 starter or alternator be damaged by too much amperage?

Thanks

--Steve

Jarod

Member III
Hi Steven,

I am by no means an expert on this but i have done a bit of reading lately and you should know that the alternator for the A4 (at least the original) was only a 35amp unit. This essentially means it is sufficient to power a bank of 140 amp hours roughly if following the 25% rule as a guideline. I know you can purchase alternators via Moyer Marine with a much higher output and this should probably be done if you are going beyond 2 batteries. If the alternator is not of sufficient amperage it will not charge the batteries properly and the batteries may be dmgd. There are many on this site that know much more than I and hopefully they will chime in and correct me if I am off base here.

Kevin Johnston

Member III
Batteries for an A4 aboard a E27

Before the season starts, I will be in the battery market as well and I may follow your lead. So, let us know what is the best route to go you all.
Thank you,
KJ

Last edited:

rwthomas1

Sustaining Partner
If you are in a slip and plug into shore power then the size of the alternator is less important provided you have a battery charger that is adequate. The other issue is how you use the boat. If you stay out long enough to deplete your bank and depend on the alternator to recharge then an upgrade is in your future. If you weekend and daysail and the electrical demands are kept in check then plugging in may work well for you.

I did the high output alternator and special regulator which works for me as I am on a mooring.

RT

steven

Sustaining Member