Wind generators

diamondjim

Member II
Can anyone shed some light on Wind generators? Specifically, (1) electro-mechanical (load dumping) vs computor controled units? (2) Do they interfer with the boat's performance? (3) Recomendations on wind generator?
Thanks,
<> Jim

escapade

Inactive Member
the wind blows free?

Jim;
I have no personal experience, but my good friend/duck hunting partner does.
He has one on his 42 Whitby ketch (mounted on mizzen). It does work, but balancing of the blades is critical. Also, there is the expense of maintaince/initial cost, extra weight aloft, etc. He and his wife cruise the Bahama's for 6 months a year, living aboard the full time. This year he rebuilt his generator (new bearings & brushes) & has bought a Honda generator. He expects to use the Honda & solar panels for the bulk of his energy needs. They run refrigeration all the time (not a cold plate) from a bank of 8D lead/acid batteries. Plans on using the wind generator until it blows up again & then getting rid of it. I guess it depends on your situation, but from what he has said it sounds like it's a lot of trouble for what it's worth.
Hopefully someone else can give you another perspective. It may just be his unit. Phil is usually pretty resourceful but this has driven him to give up on it after 3 years of messing with it.
Have fun & sail fast
Bud E34 "Escapade"

Nigel Barron

Notorious Iconoclast
Electrical Needs

Ok, so this is going to be a lot of questions, but mostly I am looking for someone to direct me to a place to find information (Lauren?).