Wilcox Headmate Replacement

Pete the Cat

Member III
There is another thread on this matter. After rebuilding my Headmate 3 times over 30 years and never getting it to stop leaking somewhere all over whenever flushed, I refused to buy the rebuild kit again and bought a cheap Swedish version of the Jabsco (or the Jabsco might be a cheap imitation of the Swedish model). In any case, it works great, doesn't leak and costs just a few dollars more than the rebuild kit if you can find one. I took my Headmate to the dumpster to avoid hexing any other person with its dysfunction and had a beer to celebrate my decision. They are evil. I have a Jabsco electric head on my Ericson and it is the picture of simplicity and works fine also. I have no idea why I put up with the Headmate for all those years.

sailinggreg

Member I
Christian and Frank,

Thank you both for your quick replies!

Since the head has always worked great (and we don't use it much), my plan is to first try just replacing the joker valve and see if that takes care of the problem.

Regarding the Raritan joker valves, anyone know if I should buy the black or the redish/pink ones? I'm not sure if there's a difference in size or shape.

I've read negative reviews of the Raritan joker valves on West Marine's website. People seem to complain about the rubber now used in their manufacture, that it doesn't hold the shape like it used to. So the valves only last a matter of months. That would be enough for me to then replace the whole head.

Thanks,

Greg

Pete the Cat

Member III
Christian and Frank,

Thank you both for your quick replies!

Since the head has always worked great (and we don't use it much), my plan is to first try just replacing the joker valve and see if that takes care of the problem.

Regarding the Raritan joker valves, anyone know if I should buy the black or the redish/pink ones? I'm not sure if there's a difference in size or shape.