Wilcox Headmate Replacement

Pat O'Connell

Member III
Respected Owners
WC Headmates are no longer available and my Headmate seems to need a rebuild. We can pump into the holding tank but can't pump from the ocean into the bowl. Thinking about a new head if I can find one that fits the footprint. The hose into the tank does not have any more length available. Don't like messing with the hose into the tank as the tank connection is very old. The sw intake hose is fine.
Rebuild would be a option. The kits are relatively expensive and I would have to extract the head to have the room to rebuild. WC has lasted about (10) years this would be our second head replacment.
Any suggestions for a new head that would be a easy hookup?
Thanks
Pat
1981 E28+ Universal 5411

Pat O'Connell

Member III
Hi Keith
Thanks for the counsel. I have no experience other than the Headmate. Probably a good idea on the hose too. I'll avoid replacing the hose if I can but we all know how that goes. Those WC sure were cheap. I think I paid about $100 for the last one. The rebuild kits were almost as expensive.
Best Regards
Pat
1981 E28+Chips

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Getting a "head" in life

From the "new" descriptor for the Raritan head model in the link, it looks like they might be phasing in a replacement for their PH2.
If you have an Ericson with something other than a Raritan PH2, head, it might have been replaced by a prior owner or perhaps was a custom request by the initial purchaser. Groco also had a very good reputation, FWIW.

The venerable PH2 was the (expensive) OEM head for 80's Ericson's and Olson's. It is a top quality product.