Tips for replacing a deck fill?

MarkA

Please Contact Admin.
Our weekend trip to Two Harbors at Catalina Island was scrubbed by -- get this -- a frozen gas cap!

That's right, the brass deck fill for our diesal tank Would. Not. Open. It was so tight it bent the spanner wrench before stripping out the holes in the cap. The slot also stripped out. I just could not open the damned thing. (It hasn't been opened since last November; I rarely motor, and the little Perkins get's ridiculous gas mileage!)

So, I'm going to replace the deck plate assembly this week. Any tips on how to remove it without gouging the deck? What should I bed the new plate in? Any other tips? I've never done this before.

Glyn Judson