Things to look for in Ericson 25 survey

rhoehn

I'm fairly new to sailing and decided to make an offer on an Ericson 25' after many months of looking. The survey and test sail is this thursday and I'm wondering if anyone could give me advice on things to look out for during the survey. Thanks!

Rob Hoehn

Bob in Va

Member III
E25 issuess

They are good boats, solidly built, but the surveyor will check the standard stuff that needs to be examined on all glass boats with some age. If it is a centerboard model, something that is hard to check, even with the boat out of the water, is the condition of the pin bushing in the board itself. It is located very close to the edge of the board, and if there has been any water intrusion, the steel spine of the board will rust and weaken. Look for cracks or breaks in the fiberglass covering the board in that area if the boat has been pulled. A friend of mine left his in the water for a number of years, sold it to another guy, and learned only later that it had extensive blisters below the waterline. Big buck yard repair.

rhoehn

Ericson Survey

It is a centerboard model. I've heard from a few people that the centerboard and the bushing are big things to check. Thanks for the help!!!

Rob Hoehn

Brian Lowman

Member II
I just bought a beautiful '73 25 Ericson and a few things you might want to add to your list,

The mast step condition,
The centerboard lifting tackle,
The stern (transom) if outboard powered,
The chainpates and bulkhead under them,
The ports and windows for leakage,
The battery platform,
The anchor storage area for damage,
The grounding cables,
The sink drain,
The deck under the stanchions.

A good surveyor will should catch all of these, but they are items that could cause you expense/time getting repaired.

I hope you find the 25 in good enough condition to purchase as they are great little boats and will designed and constructed.

Brian Lowman
S/V Gypsy Rose

rhoehn

Ericson Survey