So Cal Wind Patterns

Bepi

E27 Roxanne
Is it me or has the west wind taken a long holiday? I cannot remember a longer period of light winds that box the compass.

Pete the Cat

Member III
Something is up with the winds here in SF Bay. I have been sailing here for 50 years and things have been getting different in the last years. More winds from odd directions--fewer from "prevailing" directions. More turbulence and wind shear where the wind will be 7 knots from one direction and then 17 for 5 seconds from another. As a pilot, I am familiar with wind shear we experience on approaches to landing--and this, too, seems to have been increasing in the last decade. I am not sure what is actually causing all this--but it seems our patterns are disrupted or evolving.

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Bepi, it seems to me just a typical influence of the Santa Anas--our winter desert winds from the northeast.

The winds howl down the canyons at 50 mph, warming on the downslope side, but by the time they get to the shoreline they peter out, leaving a rippled lake surface.

Sometimes as the Santa Anas weaken they battle the natural afternoon sea breeze, leaving a dead zone a mile wide off the surf.

If anchored near a steep shore, a Santa Ana can imitate a Patagonian williwaw in intensity, whereas a few miles offshore it is calm.

We have weird weather here, compared to other places I've lived. Nonweather, I call it, because it is localized with no fronts involved. Non of my eastern prediction rules seem to apply. In summer the hot valley draws sea air inland, building during the day, such that the coast is blanketed in fog at 65F, whereas 10 miles east. on the other side of the coastal range, it is 110F.

Such a marine layer kills Hurricane Gulch, the normally reliable windsurfing spot in San Pedro. I mean "San Peedro."