sailing from texas to florida?

chip50

Member II
hi, i was wondering, since i have never sailed before...would my ericson 25 sail from texas to florida , just thinking about it,... thats a long way to go with a small boat of this size,,,,can anyone shed light on this subject....i dont know yet how to sail but am very much wanting to do as seth told me and take a sailing course such as the anapolis one....thanks,,,,chip n angela.:confused:

Chip,
Of course you can sail from Texas to Florida. But I would put about 10 years in gertting to know the boat, the weather and your own limitations before you try it. I've sailed to Cuba and back (to Tampa Bay) in my own Ericson 27 and it was rough enough so that I wouldn't do it again except when I had a great weather window...guaranteed. We had a time table last time. Big mistake. Get some salt on you before you go. I write about sailing for a living and every year I write about dead people whose ambitions exceeeded their experience.
Morgan Stinemetz

Chris Miller

Sustaining Member
small doses of big water...

Hey Chip,
Morgan's got it right on (as usual :D ). Also, if you really want blue water experience, get it in small doses with other people. Try to find some people with lots of experience who are doing small amounts of blue water and go with them. Our club on the Chesapeake sponsors an informal fun race around the light at the entrance to the bay (a few miles ofshore) led by a guy who does the transpac, annapolis-bermuda, and other such races... and the cruising side of the club usually does a sail around the Delmarva peninsula (lots more offshore, but not too far out to sea) led by a guy with lots of offshore experience. There are also schools that specialize in teaching about blue water. We had a friend do www.bwss.com and had a great offshore experience.