raw water intake ?

chip50

Member II
thanks for answering the questions about the valves under the sink....someone mentioned that one of the valves could be for the raw water intake.....im new to all of this...why would there be a valve to let water , sea water or other water come into the boat....why would there even be a hole under the boat for that reason....thanks in advance,,,,chip:confused:

Emerald

Hi,

The raw water intake that was refered to is for cooling water for the engine. Other places you'll find a thru-hull for sea water is in the head for flushing, and on some boats designed for extensive off shore cruising, you'll find a sea water intake conected to a spicket in the galley sink to rinse with and conserve fresh water for drinking etc.

Given that you are knew to all this, I'd highly recommend finding someone you trust who really knows boats to give you a thorough walk through of your systems. Generally, when not on the boat, I'd close all thru-hulls except for cockpit drains. Be very careful about leaving a thru-hull open in the head for flushing. It is very common to have the head so close to the water line, heeling or otherwise, that left open, this intake can sink the boat.

Did you have this boat surveyed? If you are new to all this and didn't, and don't know what you are looking at, this would be probably well spent money to make sure you don't have a problem getting ready to bite you.

All in all, you will find the Ericsons to be very nicely built boats, and you should have many years of great service from her.

chip50

Member II
raw water intake