Propeller Shaft Assembly Corrosion

NGB

Member II
I have owned my E28 for about two years and sail in the San Diego area. Just recently I noticed what appears to be galvanic corrosion forming on the shaft packing area just inside the hull. I do not see any evidence of zincs anywhere in the area, and nothing in the owner's manual mentions zincs on the shaft inside the hull. I have studied the example in Calder's Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual, but I don't see any evidence of that arrangement on my prop shaft, but I am not sure it even applies in my case. I am not a mechanic, so if this gets too complicated I will have to pay to have it fixed. If it is a simple fix, I would like to take care of it myself. Any suggestions?

cawinter

Member III
Bonding

Gary,

I am assuming you see the corrosion on the stuffing box. The rest should either be gelcoat/glass or bonded. I am planning to bond the bronze stuffing box (see my other note on E34 drivetrain rebuild) to the common grounding point on the engine. Having a zinc inside the boat doesn't seem to address the issue as you are not closing the loop with the electrolyte sea water outside. Ideally, one should have perhaps a shaft brush to pick up any charges there as well.

gareth harris

Sustaining Member
I have never connected all the through hulls etc. to a common ground as per Nigel Calder, as the boat maintenance world seems to be divided about its benefit. The best I can figure out the physics of it: there may be electric fields in the water, from stray wiring on the dock or other boats. Since copper is a much better conductor than salt water, bonding all your metal points of contact with the water (through hulls, prop, lightning conductor etc.) may induce voltages between them, and much higher voltages than are created by galvanic action.