Sails New Sails + Furler for 1976 Ericson 27'

All sails and sail-related equipment. Includes sails themselves as well as roller furling, lazy jacks, etc.

sialawaysailaway90

Hi everyone!

I was recently given my dad's starter (1976 Ericson 27'). It's great in so many ways but has so much potential. We sail very often (mainly during summer/early fall on Puget sound) to Kingston, Port Ludlow, Lanley, etc. I absolutely love it.

I am still a novice (only been sailing the past two summers, nearly everyday or weekend) and have taken a few classes (taking more later this month) but want some solid advice on sails and furlers. I don't know a lot about sails or furlers.

If I missed a 'sticky' my bad. I would just greatly appreciate advice.

I need to put a Furler on it along with new sails.

Any suggestions? I need something I can handle by myself. Right now, dropping the main in heavy winds is... terrifying. dropping the jib on top of it is even worse. Doing it all by myself is the scariest thing I have ever done in my life (unless the wind is completely dead) and that is saying a lot.

Cliffs-

-Novice (taking lessons every chance I get) needs a Furler and new jib sail and main sail

-What brands? Estimates?

*Any gurus in the PNW region that would like to see what's doable and what wouldn't on my boat would be greatly appreciated as well*

Will post pictures later today of the boat!

Alan Gomes

Sustaining Partner
Hello! And congrats on your new (to you) boat.

For furlers, you can't go wrong with a Harken. They are excellent. When you order a jib to go with it, spend the extra to get a foam luff. This will definitely improve the shape of the sail when you have it partially furled.