motoring with outboard

gargrag

Member II
Hi community,

My E25+ has an outboard, that has no tiller (installed by PO) and it has a remote control unit.

PO told me he used to reach down, and steer the engine using his hand while steering with the tiller.
I'm not a super expert sailor, I have like 2 y of experience and some ASA certs.

I find this method really unsafe, as I need to keep looking down, and also the tiller can kick to the side if I'm backing.
so I attached a line with a quick release to make the engine sit straight, and steer with the tiller.

problem is that, with that configuration, I need some speed for the rudder to be effective. So in close quarters, it can get complicated due to the trade-off between speed and safety.

I would love to hear your stories, and how you have dealt with this

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2022-01-25 at 4.30.07 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-01-25 at 4.30.07 PM.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 29

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
My guess is that there's a tiller available for your outboard. I had one that folded, and I used it for close maneuvering on my 25-footer with the same design of bracket.

As you know, inboards have no choice but to get going to make the rudder work at all. The compensation for that is to maneuver the boat by hand at the dock, in order to start in the direction desired.

bigd14

Contributing Partner
Blogs Author