Main Companion Way Hatch E-27

Boxster2nr

I have just recentley acquired a e-27 and am in need of main compaion way hatch. Any Thoughts or ideas would be help full Thanks

Walter Pearson

Member III
I have not heard of a source where you could just order a replacement hatch. Most people figure out a way to do it themselves or find a craftsperson willing to do it. I've seen posts saying it was simple and reasonably inexpensive and others indicating how expensive and hard it is to duplicate the compound angles. One suggestion I would make is try to save as much of the original as possible - even if unusable, the parts make valuable patterns.

I made a temporary hatch using three layers of 1/4 plywood epoxied together over a form to obtain the original curvature. The outer framework was only pine since it was intended to just last over the winter. I've been repairing it and repainting it for several years while I have been making another. This one has teak ply on either side of honeycomb for the top and will have teak framework - if I ever get it done.

Searches will turn up various materials and ways to go about constructing sliding hatches. The second method I chose had more to do with available materials and a desire to get the lightest hatch possible. The downside will probably be the low durability and possible problems repairing dings in the veneer surface.

Jack Crowe