Lee helm

simdim

Member II
Folks,
I am very new to sailing, so guestion might sound stupid :confused:...
We were out on our e29 with couple of friends who had sailed for a long time (they had catalinas and sabers) and they talked us into trying to sail under jib only. Wind was about 12-15 knots with very calm water, however the boat was totally unresponsive - extremely sensitive to the wheel and would not tack. My understanding that with this configuration center of effort is too much forward and you would have lee helm, our friends were very surprised by that behavior and we tryed it on their saber 28 later that day and sailed no problem under jib only. Any commens would be welocme.

Cheers,

Simon

treilley

Sustaining Partner
Not sure about the 29 but my 35 will sail just fine with headsail alone. In fact I will get weather helm if overpowered.

Try opening up the top of the sail a little. Also try this with less sail and see of that helps.

Last edited:
Simon,

It strikes me that you probably were sailing rather close to the wind with just the jib up and probably not going very fast. You need some way on to be able to tack. If you delay the release of the jib sheet just a bit, the wind will catch the jib and blow the bow around. But getting the boat moving is the important factor.

Morgan Stinemetz

CaptDan

Member III
Folks,
I am very new to sailing, so guestion might sound stupid :confused:...