Height of boom Ericson 23MK2

rbaroni

Would anyone who knows or has an Ericson 23 MK2 give me a measurement of the height of their boom off the deck or some comparable point of measurement? I am new to this boat, and after looking at a few pictures, the boom appears to be too low. Before I order a new mainsail, I'd like to get it figured out. Thank you in advance.

TwistedLogic

Member II
To the best of my recollection, which isn't saying much, the black line on my mast before painting was 22" above the mast base.
Does that seem practical?

rbaroni

Mast base?

Thanks for the information. When you say the "mast base", I'm not sure all the mast bases are the same. Do you mean to the level of the surface that the mast base sits on? My mast sits in a cradle that is elevated in a mast base that sits about four inches above the level of the flat surface. Thanks.

TwistedLogic

Member II
Sorry, I should have been clearer. I measured the mast band with the mast sitting on saw horses with all of the hardware removed. So the measurement is from the base of the actual mast extrusion. The fancy tall pipe as it were. Also, the top band was 11" down from the top of the extrusion. Both of those measurements were to the outside end of the band. I would guess the band was 3/4" thick. Hope that helps.

I have a new main on order from North for my 23-2. Expecting it mid-August. It will replace what I believe is the original 1975 main sail. I am going loose foot this time at their recommendation.

sleather

Sustaining Member
Mine is a '79 hull #468 which I think may be the last one.
CL of black band @ 20 1/2" above mast butt plate. Deck
plate is 5" tall. Black band is supposed to be the tack fitting pin
for the MAIN, for racing, I run mine about 1" higher. I bought
one of the first North Fully battened cruising mains, ????? years
ago, 1st one on Lake Mendota Madison, Wi. and I love it, definetly
worth the bucks although I don't think you can race it. Go by the