Gimballed cabinet?

csoule13

Member III
The family's Ericson 30+ has a gaping hole where the oven and stove used to be. Seems this is would be a nice place to build some basic storage area. Additionally, we're working through the type of stove to install. One idea is a gimballed origo alcohol stove, though the reviews on these are questionable. Another idea kicking around is having a non-gimballed stove, and instead gimbal the entire unit the stove would be installed on top of.

Anyone done something like this previously? Tips, tricks, or pitfalls that make this something that looks great on paper and is a disaster in practice?

Much appreciated,
Chris

Milagros

Member II
I have a gimbaled Origo stove (no oven). Though I wouldnt trust the gimbal in much over a little rolling at anchor--the stove is great. They are so simple that they are basically bulletproof in terms of reliability and ease of repair, and produce decent heat and flame control.

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Our boat came with an Origo 6000 range, i.e. two burner model 3000 cooker on top and an oven integrated into the frame below it.
Interesting comment about "reviews". I have never seen a bad review in 30 years.

Most owners who converted their older sailboats from pressure alcohol to the (non pressure) Origo really like it a lot.
The downside is..... the company stopped producing them a few years ago, so nowadays you have to find one in a second hand marine store or on the web.
Plan B would be to find an current-producton replacement, or change over to a propane system. Propane is popular because it works more like a home stove.
Trivia: a few years ago the "tiny house" community discovered the Origo and bloggers were really touting it.
It's one of those counterintuitive stories of supply/demand/popularity that seem to defy the old maxims about consumer capitalism.