***Fuel sending unit question on 1975 32-2***

Dagny

Member I
Hello! Total newbie here but hoping someone might be able to answer this question about my recently acquired 1975 32-2 Hull #323 with a 3-cylinder Universal (?) Diesel:

There's a non-working fuel gauge by the RPM gauge and throttle, but I can't seem to find a fuel level sending unit anywhere on the top of the tank. There's only a wire coming out of a small hole on the top of the tank, but it's been severed. Does the tank have a fuel sender built in?

The first photo shows the fore end of the tank (taken from the access panel in the aft/port side berth).

The aft/starboard end of the tank only (second photo) has what I assume to be the fuel vent line coming out of it (in a T-fitting). Wondering why one line isn't enough?

Would appreciate any and all feedback!

Thank you!

Dagny

Attachments

• 1975 Ericson 32-2 Diesel Tank 1.jpeg
    1975 Ericson 32-2 Diesel Tank 1.jpeg
    445.4 KB · Views: 18
  • 1975 Ericson 32-2 Diesel Tank 2.jpeg
    1975 Ericson 32-2 Diesel Tank 2.jpeg
    269 KB · Views: 17
  • 1975 32-2 Diesel Engine.jpeg
    1975 32-2 Diesel Engine.jpeg
    188.1 KB · Views: 17

Dagny

Member I
MY ORIGINAL POST WITH A FEW NEW DETAILS!

Hello! Total newbie here but hoping someone might be able to answer this question about my recently acquired 1975 32-2 Hull #323 with a 3-cylinder Perkins Diesel:

There's a non-working fuel gauge by the RPM gauge and throttle, but I can't seem to find a fuel level sending unit anywhere on the top of the tank. There's only a wire coming out of a small hole on the top of the tank, split into two, but both of those wires have been severed. Does the tank even have a fuel sender built in? Doesn't appear to have any kind of mounting plate with connectors, simply a hole with some caulking/seal at the exit. By the way, it’s an orange-painted tank, appears to be steel.