E38 in WA

Nick J

Sustaining Member
Blogs Author
No affiliation, but found this one kind of interesting with it's easily accessable wiring and 55hp! Yanmar. Must be some interesting stories behind both decisions.

Vtonian

E38 - Vashon
I'm intending to look at this boat and hope the EYO intelligentsia can enlighten these potential issues. I've never actually set foot on an E38x but have convinced myself that one of them is the right boat for me and leaning towards the 381 specifically for its cabin layout vs the other E38x's. I have owned a couple smaller sailboats and have always been a sailing enthusiast but I have no knowledge of E38x's beyond Christian's excellent videos (feels like a lived experience) and lots of internetting.

My first question is, is having a more modern and powerful engine really a *bad* thing? Or more just a not really necessary thing. I don't know but I'd suppose that if a 35hp engine can push an E38x at hull speed than speed wouldn't be the main benefit of this repower. I'd be inclined to think lower effort/wear, improved fuel efficiency, maybe less noise/vibration or other ergonomic intangibles like better fluid handling methods would just be a bonus on top of a timely refreshing of the power plant.

OTOH, if it weighs significantly more, or is enough larger to cramp the 'engine room' more than it already was, or has other engineering/placement issues that make it actually harder to service, that might be a reason it could be a bad choice. In my limited reading on the subject, I thought I'd read that often the new engines just give you more power for better fuel economy and about the same size & weight, so why not. IIRC, looking at Beta's, there wasn't a significant difference in price between 35hp-ish and 50hp-ish engines. From the one photo, it looks like cables and hoses were carefully routed and shrouding wasn't tossed in the dumpster, so seems reasonable to assume a professional install.