E-36C vs E-36RH

rgraham

Member II
Hello Again,
Does anyone know the differences between these two boats? Sailing characteristics, sea worthiness...?? Is the E-36RH built for off shore cruising? I'm new to the sport/life style so any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Robert

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
You need to first d/l the pdf files for each of these (quite different!) designs from the Specs and Documents Forum at this site. You will find that these are different designers, different design goals, ...but both attractive in different ways. Either could be used for coastal cruising or even offshore sailing. I will avoid the over-use of the "R" word, since any sailboat entered in a "race" is a racing sailboat......
And also, avoid the over-use of the "C" word, since both designs are equipped for "cruising" by virtue of tankage, storage, bunks, etc.....
You will have to search a bit for an example of either one, in the used boat market, as well. I have seen an example of each go on the market here in Portland, within the last several years... but only once.

Happy Hunting,

Loren

:)

Seth

Sustaining Partner
They are totally different boats in design concept- I worked on the development of the Holland boats while working at the factory and ran the factory race program on the 36H and 33H-so I know them all to well-They are awesome boats-especially the 36. It was designed to the IOR rule at the time and rated in the 27.3-27.8 range-and were competitive. They are still amoung the fastest PHRF boats for their rating around. For cruising, the very strong TAFG(Tri-Axial Force Grid) and ocean-going interior make them very strong and GREAT sea boats, as well!