Autohelm thoughts?

p.gazibara

Member III
Hey all,Cinderella (35-2) to sail around the world leaving next summer. Cinderella has a mis-match of instruments and I am wondering what the best option for an autopilot is. I currently have a KVH quadro system that came with the boat for windspeed/depth/boat speed. The boat also came with the control head for a Raymarine ST4000+ tiller pilot, but the drive was missing. The original fluxgate was replaced with a garmin compass.

My goal is to push the instruments to OpenCPN via Serial port. Hopefully I can use OpenCPN as a chartplotter for the trip, so I would also have to feed OpenCPN signal back to the autopilot.

Does anyone have any recommendations? I am pretty new to boat instrument systems, but it seems like it's pretty straightforward.

The autopilot was setup to run from connected to the tiller outside, and I am thinking I should move it below decks and connect it to the quadrant somehow. I haven't actually crawled back there yet to see what that would look like though.

While I'm at it I have a feeling I should retire the Raymarine ST4000+ since replacing the tiller drive is roughly the cost of a new auto-tiller.

If you haven't guessed, Cindy was converted from wheel to tiller steering.

Thanks!
-P

bolbmw

Member III
You may find that many autopilot systems only integrate in with the manufacturers chartplotter, etc. I can't say for certain with OpenCPN. I have a ST4000+ wheel pilot and ST40 instruments. I recently added a B&G Zeus2 MFD and with the seatalk to seatalk NG converter, am able to share information from NMEA 2000 instruments to seatalk and vice versa. The ST4000+ receives some information (like DTW) from the Zeus2, but the Zeus2 cannot control the autopilot. I don't see that as a major issue.