ATN Tacker

mherrcat

Contributing Partner
Been trying to read up a little on symmetrical and asymmetrical spinnakers and came across this article on using the ATN Tacker with a symmetrical spinnaker without a pole:

http://www.sailmaker.com/articles/ATN_Tacker/ATN_Tacker.htm

Not having used a spinnaker before, but having read how the symmetrical works with the pole, I have a question about gybing with the ATN Tacker.

Since the Tacker uses a downhaul line to adjust the height of the sail tack, it seems that a gybe would end up with the downhaul line twisted around the forestay/jib.

Since I have little experience with spinnakers, this may be a dumb question, but maybe someone can explain it to me.

westcoastcat

Member II
tacker

The tacker "theoretically" spins around the furled sail as you gybe, had one one these on my Peterson 33, worked alright but didn't slide up and down the furled sail as easily as I would have liked. I never gybed the sail forward the forestay so the problem with the tack line did not occur but if if gybed forward I guess it does wrap on every opposite tack.

Last edited:

mherrcat

Contributing Partner
But wouldn't the downhaul line also rotate with the Tacker and end up overlapping the jib/forestay? Because the downhaul line is led through a block on the deck inside of the forestay, it seems like whether you did an "outside" or an "inside" gybe you would end up with the downhaul line wrapped around the jib on one tack or the other.

mherrcat

Contributing Partner
Guess I should have looked at the ATN website first...d'oh!

They show the downhaul block attached to the bow roller in front of the forestay, which would then seem to eliminate the problem I brought up.

Bolo

Contributing Partner
No ATN Tacker