'74 E27 Fuse Panel Issue - No DC

MCJP36

Bought this Ericson about 4 months ago. The DC has been strangely off and on for the cabin lights. Except for the Aft Port light in the galley. I decided to take a look at the wiring/fuse panel and notice that at the base of the panel there was a blue wire running aft that was barely hanging on. I removed the panel and cleaned/reattached the wire to the post(which also had a lead going to my stereo btw). Put the panel back and now nothing works. Radio would work all the time before. Nada. The aft kitchen light doesn't come on at all. Am I missing something more obvious? Is there another fuse hidden somewhere that I might have tripped? Obviously I'm an electrician but I'm keen to learn! More info...before the spreader spotlights worked. Now not so much. Thanks!

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
This might be coincidence that is not causation. In lifting up the panel to look for one missing attachment, another more important one was loosened. Is your panel mounted on a vertical surface beside the companionway? About 6 or 8 fuses total?

While planning for an upgrade to a breaker panel with new wiring someday, it would be good to remove the present wires from the fuses, one at a time, clean up contacts, and restore them.
Follow the leads from the house battery bank, pos and neg, and also loosen, clean, and tighten every wire junction. Take pictures as you go along, and sketch up a diagram of what leads to what, and does what.

When "nothing works" I look at the main DC supply wiring, first, and check the old master switch for function
Good luck!
:)

bsangs

E35-3 - New Jersey