• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

E39 Cored Hull Repair

stillwater

Member II
I am repairing a fracture/crack in the aft section of the hull, starboard side, aft of the trailing edge of the keel about halfway to the waterline. The area that was ground out is about 18" top to bottom and 3" wide. The core was wet here and the inside layer of glass was fractured as well. Surveyor thought maybe a ground heaving jackstand might have done this!

My question is, has anyone done a similar repair? Was "Maverick" a cored boat?

This boat has been stored out of water, covered for the last 3 years so water intrusion has not been a problem. The boat weighed 20,000 lbs in the slings with all the gear aboard.

I am just getting started with this boat and it is the one with the single spreader mast. It turns out that it is a custom Hood spar that was installed at the factory. There is no obvious hull number and there is conflicting information on age. This was a one owner boat. The Document says 1972, the broker said 1973 and there is a plaque on the boat for the 1971 Marblehead to Halifax race/cruise.?

Dal Farias
E39 Stillwater
Bellingham, WA

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
As to that plaque, it is not unusual for an owner to transfer a participation plaque from boat to boat... But then I would wonder why he left it behind when he sold this boat?
Interesting about the (rare?) cored hull. I hope that the damage repair goes well.