• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Batteries, Batteries, Batteries, Hmmmm.....

Ted

Hello all, I am new to this, not to sailing, but sail boats with batteries, engines etc. So..... I have a 25+. The PO did nothing as far as up keep, maintainance. I want to be as self sufficient as possible. Solar power etc. Right now there is a sears marine batterie. Doing some research I'm going to go with Trojan batteries. Heres the question, two 6v batteries for house batteries and the 12v for starting. I've been told they can be grouped together since the 6v are in series to equal 12v, and I've been told they can't be. The two 6v will be on one bank and the 12v on the other. Will I have charging problems. I am open to suggestions!!:)

Ted

rwthomas1

Sustaining Partner
As long as the 6V batteries are tied together to form a 12V house bank there is no reason they cannot be then paralleled to the starting battery for charging purposes. This is actually pretty common. A good shore power battery charger will have two outputs so it will see each bank as separate and take care of them accordingly. A good high output alternator/regulator package will have no problem keeping them all topped off.

The question is what kind of configuration would/should you go with regarding the wiring of the new batteries, selector switch, etc. There are many opinions on this and many posts so do a search. I also recommend Nigel Calders Mechanical and Electrical "bible" to anyone who wants to understand the ins-n-outs of a marine electrical system.

Have fun! RT

Captron

Member III
It Depends, it depends

It depends on how you use your batteries.