Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Replacing Datamarine speed and depth with Raymarine i50 instruments

  1. #1
    Contributing Partner
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    112

    Replacing Datamarine speed and depth with Raymarine i50 instruments

    We're planning on replacing the original Datamarine instruments with new Raymarine ones. Of course this requires us to replace the thru hull transducers with new ones. In doing my research, the Datamarine ones use a 2 1/16' hole and the Raymarine ones use a 2" one. I'm sure I am not the first one to do this... experiences???? (I know that the routing of the new wires is going to be "fun"...)

    thanks in advance!
    Art
    Crew
    E32-3 "Aces Dream"
    Hull #661

  2. #2
    Contributing Partner
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Knoxville TN
    Posts
    199
    Quote Originally Posted by oldfauser View Post
    We're planning on replacing the original Datamarine instruments with new Raymarine ones. Of course this requires us to replace the thru hull transducers with new ones. In doing my research, the Datamarine ones use a 2 1/16' hole and the Raymarine ones use a 2" one. I'm sure I am not the first one to do this... experiences???? (I know that the routing of the new wires is going to be "fun"...)
    thanks in advance!
    Are you installing Raymarine's proprietary connectivity system (SeaTalk, I think it's called). If not, maybe you'd consider a non-through-hull unit and just fill in that large hole. I think there are good hull-penetrating depth sounders, and you just need a phone app to give you speed over the ground (if you won't be installing a chartplotter or other GPS receiver). There might even be good BlueTooth systems too.
    But pulling the new wiring shouldn't be too hard since you can use the old sensor's wires to pull the new wire from the new sensor to the display head. Power for the display head will already be wired for the old unit. But, if you're installing a SeaTalk backbone, then, yeah, you've gonna have some extra fun that you didn't even pay for when buying the new unit.
    E32-3 #655
    Traveller
    Knoxville, TN

  3. #3
    Moderator Christian Williams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    4,170
    Blog Entries
    78
    By all means get a chartplotter, they're cheap, simple and better than the GPS in a car. Airmar will make a compatible sonar transducer that glues on the interior hull and you can just leave the plug in the old transducer hole.
    Thelonious II, E381 hull 513 (1984) Universal 5432
    Table of Contents for Thelonious Blog here
    Videos: http://www.youtube.com/c/ChristianWilliamsYachting

  4. #4
    Principal Partner Tom Metzger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Clifton Park, NY
    Posts
    1,537
    Quote Originally Posted by Christian Williams View Post
    By all means get a chartplotter, they're cheap, simple and better than the GPS in a car. Airmar will make a compatible sonar transducer that glues on the interior hull and you can just leave the plug in the old transducer hole.
    Would Airmar make a compatible transducer that would fit the Data Marine housing? Just a thought.
    Tom Metzger
    E-34 Xanthus

  5. #5
    Sustaining Partner Slick470's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    206
    The difference between a 2-1/16" hole vs a 2" hole really isn't that much. You may be just fine with the existing slightly larger hole and fill any extra gap with the 5200 or other sealant of choice. Especially if the new transducer housing is a mushroom head style with the flange.
    Andy H.
    1990 Ericson Olson 911S #149 Hawkeye
    Deale, Maryland
    Yanmar 2GM20F

  6. #6
    Contributing Partner
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    112
    the Airmar site has some interesting units... like UDST800 Ultrasonic Smart™ Sensor - single sensor that does it all! Price is a bit high though. I think Raymarine uses Airmar sensors as all of the part numbers are the same as Raymarine!
    Art
    Crew
    E32-3 "Aces Dream"
    Hull #661

  7. #7
    Principal Partner Keith Parcells's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Channel Islands Harbor, CA
    Posts
    858
    The UST800 looks like only speed and temperature. No depth.

    I think it would be the DST800 like this:

    https://www.anchorexpress.com/Raymar...kaAuUREALw_wcB
    Keith Parcells
    1983 E-33
    Hull #24
    Rocinante

  8. #8
    Contributing Partner
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Boston - Maine
    Posts
    126
    The cable from most transducers to the instruments isn't Seatalk even for Raymarine systems. It is just an analog signal. Airmar makes pretty much all of the transducers for all the instrument manufacturers including Raymarine and Garmin, etc. The only real difference is the cable connector and the lettering. You can get transducers with built in conversion of the analog to Seatalk/NEMA but that's more expensive and a thicker cable to run and not needed if your instruments can take the analog direct.

    Newer Raymaine instruments use Seatalk Ng which is just NEMA2000 with proprietary connections so you can "convert" to NEMA2000 with just a cable adapter.

  9. #9
    Contributing Member III
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Newburyport,Ma.
    Posts
    59
    Save yourself a headache and buy Garmin, IMO mush better and certanily more user friendly

  10. #10
    Senior Moderator Loren Beach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR. Columbia River
    Posts
    7,677
    Blog Entries
    66

    Red face

    The OP seems to be looking for a KM and DS display, so "user interface" should not be a problem.
    Every brand makes friends and enemies.... Garmin succeeding in angering me with their previous generation of plotter. They may have improved, but I am reluctant to spend any $ on them to find out.
    1988 Olson 34 #8
    Sail # 28400
    Betamarine 25 (new 2018)
    Fresh Air
    Portland, OR USA

  11. #11
    Contributing Partner
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    112
    we have decided on a Raymarine I70s System Pack, Wind, Depth, Speed. This will network with our existing ST6002 Raymarine Autopilot and Standard Horizon Chart plotter. We are going to add an additional i70s display for additional output. Best thing is that there is a $250 rebate on the system until Oct 15th!

    This system comes with the Dst800 single transducer so we only have to replace one of the Datamarine transducers and pull one wire. we are also pulling the mast for maintenance this year so replacing the masthead unit will be easy (as "easy" as doing anything on a 30 year old boat is); pulling the new wire through the headliner from the mast to the panel might be "interesting" though...
    Art
    Crew
    E32-3 "Aces Dream"
    Hull #661

  12. #12
    Contributing Partner
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Knoxville TN
    Posts
    199
    Quote Originally Posted by oldfauser View Post
    // pulling the new wire through the headliner from the mast to the panel might be "interesting" though...
    ... just use the old existing wire to pull the new wire through the headliner space - no need to use a fish tape - but make certain the two wires are firmly attached to each other - consider using a crimp instead of just tape to keep them together.
    E32-3 #655
    Traveller
    Knoxville, TN

  13. #13
    Contributing Member III
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    65
    Blog Entries
    2
    man you have three easy choices: patch the hole and install transducer in another location as stated by others. patch existing hole and ream it out to the proper size. or use the existing hole and live with the 1/32 gap around your transducer housing. me personally, i can easily make up that gap with some poxy and sandpaper afterward. good luck and try not to sink your boat!
    Last edited by gabriel; 10-02-2019 at 08:12 AM.

  14. #14
    Contributing Partner
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    112
    I think were are going to remove the old transducer for the speedometer (its the forward one); fill the 1/32 gap and bed the new one... pull the wires and make sure the bilge pump works Just kidding...(we always make sure the bilge pump works)... I'll make sure it's done correctly
    Art
    Crew
    E32-3 "Aces Dream"
    Hull #661

  15. #15
    Sustaining Partner
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    South Shore of Long Island NY
    Posts
    269
    Blog Entries
    1

    it depends

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfauser View Post
    We're planning on replacing the original Datamarine instruments with new Raymarine ones. Of course this requires us to replace the thru hull transducers with new ones. In doing my research, the Datamarine ones use a 2 1/16' hole and the Raymarine ones use a 2" one. I'm sure I am not the first one to do this... experiences???? (I know that the routing of the new wires is going to be "fun"...)

    thanks in advance!
    When my old data marine speedometer died I replaced it. Had the same problem sight the through the hull.
    The new mushroom did cover the old hole, so he wisDom of the yard... Was to prep and clean everything. Use slow cure 5200 to "fill" in the small gaps. I had a friend on the out side I was on the inside, and we carefully set the new mushroom in the dead center in the hole and we screwed in the big but and squished the 5200 out all around. We let it set up for to days before we launched. Thanks was ten years ago.

    Just don't get the 5200 on the threads.

    Rick
    Pax et Bene
    Rick e29

Similar Threads

  1. Datamarine Instruments For Sale
    By lbertran in forum For Sale & Wanted
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-30-2012, 08:55 AM
  2. Replacing Datamarine Instruments
    By lbertran in forum Maintenance & Mechanical
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-02-2011, 08:03 AM
  3. replacement depth, boat speed and wind speed instruments
    By joe-fran in forum Maintenance & Mechanical
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-19-2010, 07:56 PM
  4. Datamarine wind, speed, depth for sale
    By treilley in forum For Sale & Wanted
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-22-2009, 07:53 AM
  5. Datamarine depth wanted
    By treilley in forum For Sale & Wanted
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-20-2006, 07:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •