• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

engine problem

jwallybrown

My Universal inboard diesel has recently weakened for unknown reasons. At full throttle it reaches 2000 rpm but the boat is barely moving. It used to max out at 3000 rpm. I'm new at engine repair. Any recommendations?

Neil Gallagher

1984 E381
Check your prop for marine growth. In our waters the prop need to be scrapped of barnacles about every 2 months. Sounds like yours is fouled.

Alan Gomes

Sustaining Partner
My Universal inboard diesel has recently weakened for unknown reasons. At full throttle it reaches 2000 rpm but the boat is barely moving. It used to max out at 3000 rpm. I'm new at engine repair. Any recommendations?
Could be any number of things.

Will the engine reach full RPM in neutral? When was the last time you removed and inspected your exhaust riser? (Those can get plugged up over time.) What is the condition of your prop? Just a few items for starters....

Leander

Member II

Will the engine reach full RPM in neutral? When was the last time you removed and inspected your exhaust riser? (Those can get plugged up over time.) What is the condition of your prop? Just a few items for starters....

Has the appearance of the exhaust changed? I second the idea of documenting max RPM in neutral-that should help decide whether you have a problem with engine or drive train (including prop).

If engine max RPM in neutral has declined, check fuel quality and flow rate as one of your early steps.

jwallybrown

Yes. When in neutral it reaches full RPM. When in gear it is significantly weaker. The boat also barely moves forward at full throttle.

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author