Access to bow cleats

Craig Gustafson

Greetings from Kansas City. I have a 1980 Ericson 30 plus. The starboard bow cleat has become loose. I want to get access from below but not sure how this is done. There is a wooden plate (for want of the correct term) at the front of the forward cabin, but there doesn't seem to be a way to remove the "plate" without removing the vinyl siding (please forgive my use of bad terminology, I'm a relative novice). What's the best way to get access to the bottom of the bow cleat? Thanks so much for your assistance and words of wisdom.

Best regards,

Craig

Frank Langer

1984 Ericson 30+, Nanaimo, BC
On my 1984 E30+ I was able to remove the wooden piece between the v- berth and the bow. Looking up while lying on my back in the v- berth I found the bottom of the anchor locker. Easiest was to remove the anchor locker which allowed me to rebed it to fix a leak there. With the anchor locker removed the bow cleats can be accessed on either side.
If you don't remove the anchor locker you can access the cleats beside the anchor locker but it's a tight fit.
Good luck!
Frank

Craig Gustafson

Unless i'm really missing something, my anchor locker appears to be solidly molded into the deck and cannot be removed. Common sense suggests there must be a reasonable way to get access from the v-berth area, but so far I appear to be short on a "common sense" solution. It looks like I may have to remove some of the vinyl side panel and also remove the wooden panel at the front of the v-berth. I'm open to better ideas! Thanks for the assistance.

Craig

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Access needed