• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

30+ weather helm?

Skitch

Hello All!

I am a total newbie. My wife and I started sailing an O'day sailer 3 or 4 months ago and are having a great time with it. We have it on a 100 acre lake behind our house, so we have been able to sail at least once a week. Previously I have just had a few rides on larger sailboats.

We are very seriously considering the purchase of a nice clean E30+ shoal draft, and have advanced to the point of having gone on a test sail. We have very little prevoious keel boat experience, so am having difficulty judging the boat's performance.

It was a nice windy day with 10-15 knot winds. I would have thought ideal conditions for the boat. It sailed OK, but required considerable rudder to keep it tracking on a close reach. At times I totally ran out of helm, and we had to let out on the main sheet, and or round up. I was steering, and the owner with a buddy were trimminng the sails. Because of the dodger I did not have a clear view of what the sail was doing.

Quite possible we would have been better off reefing a notch. Could be that the crew had the main sail trimmed too tight, or both. Just not sure.

Is rudder effectivness an issue with the shoal draft 33+.

Regards to all, Skitch

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
That's just a sail trim issue.

May I ask why you've chosen a 30-foot cruising boat (forget Ericsons for a moment)?

Why not 23 feet? Why not 36 feet? Why not charter for a while? What's the intended use?

Imagining the intended use and getting a boat that fits is the challenge. Depends on age, children, level of fanaticism-- all of which evolves and changes yearly.