Oil Changing Methods

ted_reshetiloff

Contributing Partner
I am changing the oil in my M-40 on the 89' E 38-200 and was wondering what method everyone else was using? I have a little Jabsco brass transfer pump with the small (1/4") tube to go down either the dipstick hole or the hose attached to the sump but the oil being thick is a royal PITA to get through the pump. I used to use a can with a bicycle pump that created vacuum to pull out the oil but I think my father reposessed it...Maybe time to buy a new one. Damn near broke my arm and made a mess trying to pump it out last night. I have the coolant drained as I spotted a small leak from the petcock coolant block drain on the strbd side of the motor. Need to replace the petcock then refill coolant. I suppose its best to do it with the oil hot as it gets the contaminants suspended in the oil just wanted to get the oil out before I finished the coolant issue.

mark reed

Member III
I've got the can with the bike pump on top. Its called a Topsider MVP and can be found at WM. Works fine as long as the oil is hot, and as long as you don't misplace the gasket that fits between the pump and the can. I run the tube down the hose that is connected to the engine's oil pan. The tube has two parts, the business end is smaller and more rigid, the end connected to the collection can is larger and softer. If you pump too hard vacuum is too strong and collapses the soft part of the tube.

Attachments

• 11935_f.jpg
    11935_f.jpg
    6.7 KB · Views: 351
Last edited:

Sean Engle

Your Friendly Administrator
Administrator
Founder
Me too!

mark reed said:
...fine as long as the oil is hot...

Ditto for me - the pump is actually very easy - just run the engine up first and get it nice and hot so it's runny.

I used the same thing to do my transmission as well.

//sse

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Slurp!