• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Sail help!

IslandTime29

Member II
I am still learning, even after a year and a half of owning our E29. I finally, yes, I know its been a year and a half, pulled out all the extra sail bags I have in our garage. I have no idea about the size and or purpose of some of them. I am looking to sell a few of them, so just needing info.

Jib Top is one of them. It is stamped on the bag along with the Ericson logo and Ericson 29. What is this?

Difference between a Genoa 1 and Genoa 2? I know the Genoa 1 is a 150%, but unsure on the Genoa 2.

Staysail is another one. I have two of these, but don't know function or size. Are these "storm jibs"?

I really appreciate any help. The good news is that I have 2 Genoa #1 and 1 Genoa #2 that are all in excellent condition. I will be selling one of the Genoa 1 and maybe the Genoa 2, as I am having a roller furling system installed soon.

Thank you in advance!

Justin

E33MikeOx

Member II
Justin:

Boy, did you ask loaded questions! My answer is: Well, uhh, it sorta, kinda depends .... (on any number of unstated, and/or nebulous variables). Lets see, there is: the boat, the PO, the sailmaker, the particular sail "fad" at the time, and so on. This sure doesn't answer your questions, does it?

Jib top - I have no idea (I thought a "jib top" was one to the numerous jibs on the bow of a tall ship!)

Difference between a No.1 and No.2 Genoa - No. 2's are usually smaller than No. 1's, but sometimes they are the same size and the No. 2. is made of heavier sailcloth to better hold its shape in higher winds.