• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Engine room blower hose

goodrotties

Newbie here. We just bought a 1976 32-2 that hadn't been sailed in several years. While bent double inside the starboard lazaret trying to get at the front of the Atomic 4, I kept bumping into a floppy 3-inch corrugated hose that droops inside the hull from the lower bilge area to the blower under the rear starboard deck. Is there any reason not to plumb it in 3-inch rigid Schedule 40 PVC plumbing pipe that could be fastened out of the way under the quarter berth and cross near the fuel tank? Thanks for opinions and suggestions.

Rocinante33

Contributing Partner
Extra weight that you don't need. Why don't you just use long tie wraps to pull it outta your way? It's pretty important. With your gas engine, you always want to run the blower and smell for gas fumes before you crank the engine. By running down towards the bilge it will evacuate (or at least bring up) fumes which could be explosive in the event of a gas leak. If you smell gas from the blower, don't crank the engine.

Emerald

I'd also just add that in general, PVC doesn't belong on a boat, especially for plumbing. Asking for cracking over time (vibration and freeze issues).

Glyn Judson

PVC aboard.