• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Ericson 28 Throttle Cable-wheel chain issue

YoreCrew

Hi! I am new to the forem. My son & I sail a 1987 Erickson 28. The wheel froze leaving the slip & we discovered that the throttle-mount is bent, interfering with the wheel chain. Anyone have a brand for the pedestal or any drawings of the internal workings? Any ideas how to pop the throttle mount that is secured with Si to the pedestal base? Thanks!

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
Is there a Y S emblem on the big chromed nut that holds the wheel on?
I ask because my '88 has a Yacht Specialties wheel setup and I know that Ericson installed oodles of these.

LB

ref_123

Member III
Yacht Specialties

... as Loren pointed out. However, the nut on mine says "Edson".

Which part of the assembly did get damaged? If it is an aluminum "tang" that goes down to the piedestal, it's a relatively easy fix - any local machine shop will be able to cut you a new one. Also, at this point, the second tang (the one holding a gear shift cable) is probably in a pretty bad shape, too, so check it out and may be just machine replacements for both.

I went through this in August, and a couple of new tangs was $300. Kind of expensive... but much less then a new piedestal. When I started calling around to local machanics most suggested to put me up with a new Edson, stating that YS is too old and repairing it is a hassle...

Regards,
Stan

YoreCrew

YS it is!

Thank you both for your insightful replys!

I went to the boat today (power was out here at the house, today, so I am just gettng to this response!) and the wheel is, indeed, cast "Y S".