Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Replacing Datamarine Instruments

  1. #1
    Principal Partner
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    316

    Replacing Datamarine Instruments

    I'll be hauling out the boat for the Winter and dropping the mast for new wiring and standing rigging. I also plan to replace Datamarine intruments with Simrad IS20 wind and depth/speed. I currently have two through hull transducers in close proximity, one for depth and one for speed. The Simrad only uses one transducer for both depth and speed. Is there a good reason for removing the left over, obsolete transducer? I like the idea of one fewer hole in the bottom but these through hull transducers have never leaked and I like leaving well enough alone too. Any guidance? Thanks as always!


    Laura Bertran
    Footloose, 1985 E35-3
    Annapolis, MD

  2. #2
    Principal Partner mherrcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Channel Islands Harbor, Oxnard CA
    Posts
    1,479
    In another thread rhewitt may be looking for a Datamarine speed transducer. Perhaps yours would work for him?

    If you look around inside the hull where the transducers are installed you may find a "dummy" plug that goes in the through hull when the transducer is removed. One of my transducer through hull fittings has the dummy plug installed and it works fine, no leaks. The dummy plugs for my transducers were attached to the actual transducers with a short length of line so they wouldn't get lost in the bilge.
    Last edited by mherrcat; 10-25-2010 at 04:16 PM.
    Mark H.
    1985 Ericson 30+

  3. #3
    Principal Partner
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    316

    Datamarine Speed Transducer

    Hi, Mark-
    I do plan to post all of the salvaged Datamarine instrument displays and transducers for sale as soon as they're removed. Everything works and I had the wind transducer rebuilt by Datamarine two years ago. Thanks.


    Laura Bertran
    Footloose, 1985 E35-3
    Annapolis, MD

  4. #4
    Principal Partner treilley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Portland, ME
    Posts
    1,624
    Laura, the existing depth transducer will probably work with the new instruments. So I would replace the speed with the new combo unit and leave the depth as a spare. You could even mount the old DM at the NAV station as a backup.
    Tim R.
    Living aboard in Portland, Maine
    TKR on a boat Blog
    Boat Projects and Photos
    -----------------------------------------------------

  5. #5
    Contributing Member III
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The harbor of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua and sail the waters of the central Pacific coast
    Posts
    51

    Give me a heads up...

    Hi, Our Sea Scout boat here in Nicaragua (www.sailingnicaragua.com) sure could use your used gear. Our units have gone the way of ??? Please contact me off line if you can. nicaralph@gmail.com thanks

  6. #6
    Principal Partner
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    316

    Hi, Tim

    Yes, I was planning on removing the paddlewheel speed transducer to accomodate the new transducer. Leaving the depth transducer in as a spare sounds like a great idea. Thanks!


    Laura Bertran
    Footloose, 1985 E35-3
    Annapolis, MD

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Solomons Island, MD
    Posts
    2

    Datamarine anemometer

    I'd be interested in the anemometer if it's still available. My choices are to rebuild existing one or buy a used one. Yours being rebuilt two years ago seems ideal. I'm close to Annapolis too! Steve.

  8. #8
    Principal Partner
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    316

    Hi, Jopaka

    Yes, the wind transducer is available. I had thought to try to sell the gear as a set, or at least the tansducers and displays together so I'll be listing it all on this site shortly. However, depending on demand for individual parts, that may be the way to go. Thanks.


    Laura Bertran
    Footloose, 1985 E35-3
    Annapolis, MD

  9. #9
    Sustaining Partner
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Bern, NC
    Posts
    291
    Any chance your unit is the Link 5000 ? My 5000 main box is in for repair and may have died altogether.

  10. #10
    Sustaining Partner CSMcKillip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tulsa
    Posts
    266
    Quote Originally Posted by sailingdeacon View Post
    Any chance your unit is the Link 5000 ? My 5000 main box is in for repair and may have died altogether.
    I have 2, may part with one of them. Link5000, they come up on ebay every month.
    Chris McKillip
    E33RH-Hull 23
    Capri25-Hull 17
    www.e33rh.blogspot.com

  11. #11
    Sustaining Partner
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Bern, NC
    Posts
    291
    Chris... not meaning to argue with you, but I personally have not seen a Datamarine Link 5000 main unit on EBAY or even the associated remote displaly for it. I check often. I've seen transducers and other components but not the main unit. If anyone sees one please post the url here or email me.

  12. #12
    Sustaining Partner CSMcKillip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tulsa
    Posts
    266
    Quote Originally Posted by sailingdeacon View Post
    Chris... not meaning to argue with you, but I personally have not seen a Datamarine Link 5000 main unit on EBAY or even the associated remote displaly for it. I check often. I've seen transducers and other components but not the main unit. If anyone sees one please post the url here or email me.
    I picked up a main unit, 4 remote displays, and the helm display - link 5000 on ebay two months ago along with all new tranducers, compass and wind guage. It was a by it now deal and I gave a good amount for them. Last month I came across another Link 5000 unit with just tge helm display, I bought them also. Last week there was another main unit and tge 4 mini displays listed seperatly, 100.00 for tge main unit and 25.00 per mini display. I think I still have the contact info on these, I will check.

    My wife thinks I have gone nuts, but I want the boat vintage, and electronics break.
    Chris McKillip
    E33RH-Hull 23
    Capri25-Hull 17
    www.e33rh.blogspot.com

  13. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Solomons Island, MD
    Posts
    2

    Data Marine anemometer

    Please let me know when you post the instruments for sale. I can be contacted directly at Stevelleen@comcast.net

  14. #14
    Principal Partner
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Wakefield, RI
    Posts
    1,701
    With a newborn at home I have not been on this board much so I missed this post initially....

    I cannot recommend the Simrad IS20 system. I had it, installed it, and had nothing but trouble with it. I replaced every single piece of it trying to troubleshoot it. Simrads support really, really sucked. Their response to any problem is to just replace parts. My local dealer had no answer for me. I eventually had to remove it all and put a Raymarine ST60+ system in.

    Now I tried the Simrad system two years ago and it was brand new at the time. I was the first system the local dealer had sold. I was also the last. That says something. Simrads autopilots are great, I have one. The W/S/D system is what sucked. Intermittent function of all the units with no solutions.

    There you are. I pray you don't go through the crap I did.

    If I was going to do it all again I would look hard a the Furuno system. The Raymarine has been okay, some issues with the masthead sensor.

    RT
    Last edited by rwthomas1; 01-01-2011 at 12:19 AM.
    Rob Thomas
    Wakefield, RI
    1983 Ericson E38 "Ruby"
    "I purchased a boat because setting fire to $100 bills was not an efficient enough way to dispose of them...."

  15. #15
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Annapolis, MD
    Posts
    1,658
    Quote Originally Posted by CSMcKillip View Post
    [snip]
    My wife thinks I have gone nuts, but I want the boat vintage, and electronics break.
    Not nuts at all. I think that for many of us, the old DMI instruments provide all the information needed and are plenty accurate, and I've had good support from them. When I look at what I spent to have my masthead portion rebuilt compared to a new quality instrument, I feel I did the right thing. I have picked up spares, like you, and really enjoy nice vintage round instruments. I think a bunch of square LCD displays would be completely out of place on the Independence 31.
    -David
    Independence 31
    Emerald

Similar Threads

  1. Datamarine Link 5000 Instruments
    By Bob Cole in forum Maintenance & Mechanical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-30-2009, 09:35 AM
  2. Replacing Instruments - Plastic or Wood covers?
    By SurabyaKid in forum Maintenance & Mechanical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-20-2008, 05:50 PM
  3. Replacing Sailing Instruments
    By lbertran in forum Maintenance & Mechanical
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 07-15-2007, 10:40 PM
  4. Datamarine parts
    By Annapolis E-27 in forum Maintenance & Mechanical
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-23-2005, 08:25 AM
  5. Advice needed for replacing instruments on E38-200
    By Chris Miller in forum Maintenance & Mechanical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-22-2005, 12:43 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •