• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

stupid question #1

iwantone

Member II
I am a newbie so please bear with... I just aquired a 1978 29 foot Ericson

In the main cabin in the center (right after you walk down the stairs) their is a small square hatch in the floor. Upon lifting this access area there is what appears to be a rusted/corroded smooth mound with paint ontop of it. ?? Any ideas? I have visions of being lead poisoned as it is around where I would expect the keel to be. The engine is an atomic 4 in great working condition and is at least 4 feet in back of this "thing". :confused:

Thanks

newpbs

Member III
No Questions Are Stupid

More information would be useful. A picture would be even better.

It sound like there will be a number of questions that you will have in the future. This site is a wonderful place to gain insight to those issues. Just remember that we really don't know who you are! LOL

Paul

Mark F

Contributing Partner
Blogs Author
Welcome iwantone,

It sounds like the mound might be an old piece of steel hardware (bolt?) that was used to drop the lead keel into hull. Some photos would be helpful. I doubt it is anything to worry about.

Randy Rutledge

Sustaining Member
The area between the sole and the top of the keel is just bilge and there is support for the mast directly under the large wood post at the front corner of the table by the head door. There are no keel bolts to worry about, the back foot of the keel is hollow and if broke will allow water to enter the boat. What you see could be part of the hardware for lowering the led into the keel but most likely remnants something someone added and nothing to worry about.

iwantone

Member II