• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Ericson 27 capacity

Chuck C

Hi. I just bought a 1971 Ericson 27. I'm new to big boat sailing and was wondering how many people I could safely take on my boat. Any other advice is also appreciated. (I've sailed and windsurfed my whole life on smaller vessels)

HughHarv

Hugh
<TABLE style="BORDER-BOTTOM-STYLE: none; BORDER-RIGHT-STYLE: none; BORDER-COLLAPSE: collapse; BORDER-TOP-STYLE: none; MARGIN-LEFT: 0.45pt; BORDER-LEFT-STYLE: none" class=MsoNormalTable border=2 cellSpacing=0 borderColor=#0073b4 cellPadding=0 width="85%"><TBODY><TR style="HEIGHT: 16.05pt"><TD style="BORDER-BOTTOM: 1pt inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1pt inset; PADDING-BOTTOM: 3.75pt; PADDING-LEFT: 3.75pt; WIDTH: 100%; PADDING-RIGHT: 3.75pt; BACKGROUND: #e6f2ff; HEIGHT: 16.05pt; BORDER-TOP: 1pt inset; BORDER-RIGHT: 1pt inset; PADDING-TOP: 3.75pt" width="100%">For boats over 26 feet, a general way to determine how many people you may safely carry is to use the following formula:</TD></TR><TR style="HEIGHT: 30.85pt"><TD style="BORDER-BOTTOM: 1pt inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1pt inset; PADDING-BOTTOM: 3.75pt; PADDING-LEFT: 3.75pt; WIDTH: 100%; PADDING-RIGHT: 3.75pt; BACKGROUND: #e6f2ff; HEIGHT: 30.85pt; BORDER-TOP: medium none; BORDER-RIGHT: 1pt inset; PADDING-TOP: 3.75pt" width="100%">
Boat length (in feet) multiplied by Beam (in feet) divided by: 15
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Per Boat U.S. from this site:

http://www.boatus.org/onlinecourse/ReviewPages/BoatUSF/Project/info1a.htm

Should be a dozen or so, in calm weather.

Frank Langer

1984 Ericson 30+, Nanaimo, BC