• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Possible new owner…lots of questions…

mherrcat

Contributing Partner
I have been thinking of possibly purchasing a sailboat and am trying to get an idea if I can afford this hobby. (I have some experience sailing, having once owned a Laser and having sailed on a few 27' boats over the years and a 46' Amel Maramu from New York to Baltimore once.)

I have a lot of questions regarding a couple of used Ericson 30-1's that I have my eye on, so hopefully you all will bear with me. Both boats are in Ventura, CA, but I haven't spoken with the brokers yet. One of them is a 1968 model, the other a 1969. You can see them on the Boats.com website.

One is with Catalina Yacht Anchorage and the other is with Larry Dudley Yacht Sales (Smugglers Cove Yachts.)

Does anyone have any knowledge or opinions about either of these brokers?

The 1968 model is priced considerably less than the 1969, so I assume it will probably need new sails, rigging and possibly a new engine (or rebuild?) This boat is named "Felicity." Is anyone familiar with this boat or know anything about it?

I understand that Ericson's are pretty well made, but since these are basically 40 years old, what should I pay particular attention to when I go see them?

In general, what kind of expense will I be looking at to replace each of the following:

Sails
Standing Rigging
Running Rigging
Engine Replace (engine rebuild?)
Bottom Repaint

How much am I looking at for insurance?