• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Ideal Wind Speed & When to Reef

Frank Langer

1984 Ericson 30+, Nanaimo, BC
I am not sure this is an answerable question, about "ideal sailing wind", but I think your responses would nevertheless be helpful to many of us. As a relatively new owner of an Ericson 30+, I am still learning how she sails in various conditions, Compared with my previous 23' San Juan, the E30+ feels more solid but also requires more wind to approach hull speed.

The previous owner, and others, have advised that she be reefed around 13 knots and a second reef at about 18 knots (I normally sail with mainsail and 125% furling headsail). My experience so far is that she comes into her own around 15 knots, likes a first reef at around 18 knots, and I haven't had to use a second reef yet, but would guess somewhere around 22 knots or so. I know that these boats tend to sail better at heel angles up to about 15 degrees (o.k. I might be hitting 20 degrees on occasion :D ). I also know that other conditions, such as waves, gusts, etc. are relevant factors, but for simplicity, let's overlook that for now.

So my question is what are your preferred wind speeds for a good sailing day in your locale, and at what wind speed do you add a reef/2nd reef? I am interested, not only as comparison info. for my E30+, but also as a way of improving my understanding of the sailing characteristics of the various Ericson models.

I'll look forward to your responses and thoughts on this.

Frank.

Mike Thomas

Member II
now wind speed - was I'm not sure this is an answerable question, but....

Frank

I sail a 76 E-29 on Great South Bay - LI