• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Is a <$18,000 Ericson 38 a Financial Trap?

Equanimity

Member II
Hi Forum,

My name is Mike, and I’m new to the Ericson world. I have my eye on a local 1981 E38 that’s being offered for less than $18,000. I’m unsure of the structural integrity at this time, but am going to take a look at the vessel next week.

I was was hoping to get your take on whether or not, in your experience, you felt this boat is worth looking at in the first place, or not. In your experience, are offers like these usually “too good to be true?” Should I anticipate extensive hull damage? My gut is telling me that this specific boat may, quite possibly, be too difficult to salvage.

Truth be told, my knowledge is quite limited when it comes to surveying boats or this size. I do plan to overhaul whatever vessel I ultimately decide to invest in, just want to make sure I’m not getting myself in too deep from the get-go.

Thanks for for your responses!

Geoff W.

Makes Up For It With Enthusiasm
Blogs Author
Do you have a posting? That's a low price tag but hard to give specifics without seeing specifics.

Afrakes

Sustaining Member
Experience

Are you new to sailing? Is this your first boat? If it looks promising at first glance get a professional survey.

alcodiesel

Bill McLean
Some sailboat axiom states "For every added foot in LOA the cost of repair or maintenance increases logarithmically ."
220px-Log.svg.png

Equanimity

Member II
Hi Guys,

Thanks is much for your replies. Here is the listing. It’s the lowest-priced offering for this length, at present. https://www.yachtworld.com/boats/1981/ericson-38-3252736/