• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

[E32-3] Rig Tension Specs?

Geoff W.

Makes Up For It With Enthusiasm
Blogs Author
Might be a dumb question as I'm a rigging novice, but anyone know what specs the shrouds/stays should be tuned to on the E32-3? I'm gonna try my first few races this/next month as skipper and I notice my boat is almost a knot faster on starboard tack than it is on port tack. Water tanks are empty and ballast seems balanced so the only thing I can think is it's a rigging issue.

bgary

Advanced Beginner
Blogs Author
Might be a dumb question as I'm a rigging novice, but anyone know what specs the shrouds/stays should be tuned to on the E32-3?

I'm not (personally) a believer in the "quant" method of tuning a rig. It's entirely possible to have misleading numbers, and/or "the right numbers" and a rig that still isn't right.

My approach is very analog:
-- ease all the shrouds a few turns
-- make sure the mast is centered in the partners (at the deck)
-- using a 50-foot tape measure run up the main halyard, adjust the uppers until the masthead is centered over the boat, and make them "snug"
-- sighting up the bolt-rope slot on the back of the mast, adjust the intermediates until the top panel of the mast is "in column" under the masthead
-- sighting up the bolt-rope slot, adjust the lowers until the whole mast is "in column" under the masthead
-- tighten everything up (*)