• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Storage on a 32-2 and 32-3

letsgosomewhere

Hi all. I am new to everything but am leaning toward and Ericson because they seem to be great build quality, sailability and simplicity. I think I am leaning toward a 32 for the layout and a little extra size over some of the shorter boats. And it seems like the current prices on the 32s are quite a bit less than boats larger, especially the 34.
Question is, aside from the cockpit lockers (is lazarette the right word), and your normal lockers and a few drawers inside, are there other hatches and things that I am not seeing that can store your crap?
like are the seat backs removable with storage behind? I know the bottoms are hollow.

I ask ask because I've noticed large shelf space behind the salon seats in a lot of similar sized boats from other manufacturers. And ericsons seem to be roomy because they lack that shelf space but it seems to cut down on storage. My eventual plan would be some long term off the grid cruising with a crew of at least 2, but probably 3. Probably at least a 4 battery system (with another for the motor) and the ability to provision food for long trips (months), the places I want to go are remote, and I don't want to run out of pork and beans. or in the meantime, space to just store the nececities of live aboard.
So is there space for all that in an e32? Or am I going to have to dedicate too much of the permanent space to electronics and safety gear, and then have all my provisions in bins and tubs stuffed anywhere they will fit, like the quarter and v berths?