• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

E34 Hull/Bilge Construction

Latitude

Greetings all- so I am a yacht broker and I have a listing for an 1989 Ericson 34, and one of my prospective buyers found online that there was some reported issues with the grid systems in which stress cracks sometimes can be found in the areas around the base of the mast. Looking at my listing, and also just having been on another Ericson 34 recently, they both seem to have identical areas where the grid system is coated in grey as opposed to white bilgecote in the deeper areas of the bilge.

I'm assuming this was how they were built, or could it be signs of near identical repairs in this area? They greyness the color of the epoxy used to bond the grid system to the hull?

Below are 2 pics each of each of the 2 separate boats bilges. If there is an issue, how is best to tell?

attachment.php
attachment.php
attachment.php
attachment.php

Attachments

• E34-CT-1.jpg
    E34-CT-1.jpg
    108.2 KB · Views: 60
  • E34-CT-2.jpg
    E34-CT-2.jpg
    77.8 KB · Views: 54
  • E34-1.JPG
    E34-1.JPG
    66.4 KB · Views: 89
  • E34-2.JPG
    E34-2.JPG
    20.2 KB · Views: 59

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
My EY-built boat is an '88, and AFAIK there was no epoxy used in its construction.
Of course I have used epoxy for later upgrades, but OEM's in the 80's used mostly all poly resin.

(Trivia note: one cost factor that Express boats in California never overcame in the mid 80's was their choice to use epoxy resin for it's added layup strength. That and added labor in their layup methods helped to push them into bankruptcy. Real nice boats when you find one for sale.)