• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Bracket for A4 Shifting Cable on E27

AndrewD

I'm trying to replace the shifter cable on my E27, but the bracket that connects it to the engine was missing when we bought the boat. I'm new to this stuff and a little overwhelmed and could use some help. I tried doing as much research as I could before posting, promise! =)

1) Anyone have any info on what the bracket looks like? I've done some snooping, and most people say "angle iron," but that's a little vague for me.. does anyone have a picture or better description? Is it literally just angle iron that attaches to the transmission case and has holes drilled for the cable clamp?

2) I found in another thread the appropriate cable is a Teleflex TFXtreme 6400CC 12'. Can anyone confirm the length?

3) Using this PDF, it looks like I'll need (2)
Univ. 6400/64 Clevis (I'm guessing the 5/16" pin will be adequate, but there's also a 3/8" option) and (1) Univ. 6400/64 Clamp & Shim Kit for the engine side connection. I'm assuming the binnacle side will still have a working clamp. Here are the Clevis connectors on West Marine.[Here's the 3/8" connector if anyone needs it]. Here's the Shim kit. Does that all sound about right?

4) Any money saving tips? I doubt it, but thought I'd at least ask. :nerd: Standing rigging is also on the list and wouldn't mind saving some cash!

Thanks in advance everyone! Hopefully the links above will save some people some time in the future.

Jenkins

Member II
Andrew,

my bracket is indeed a piece of angle - pretty sure mine is aluminium. no photos i am afraid.

you may want to post this queston at the Moyer forum - www.moyermarine.com/forums/index.php