• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Universal M40 32 HP intermittent starter prob

Merrimist

Hammy, 'Merrimist' E38 in sunny Bda
Good day happy E owners,
As a new owner of a 1986 E38220 (can anyone explain this to me, i.e. is it hull #20 of the E38-200 series? Or is it something else?)
My understanding is that the M40 32 HP Universal engine is original, running hours unknown.
I am new to this happy group, I was out sailing last weekend when just prior to me dropping the sails I wanted to start the engine, it would not start, it would not even crank, i.e. starter motor solenoid clicked when start button pushed, but no starter motor turning.
Brief background, nominal 12V in the two parallel linked batteries. Engine started from cold earlier in the day to leave the swing mooring, i.e. after 20 second glow plug button depressed, engine start button pushed, engine cranked and started normally. After setting the sails, enging pull stop operated and engine stopped normally.
Then about 4 hours later the engine would not start, as mentioned above, you could hear the fuel pump run when ignition switched on - normal, depress the glow plug button - normal, then release glow plug button and depress the start button. Then solenoid click and no cranking.
After several attempts, I sailed in and dropped the pick.
A couple of hours later, when I checked, the engine started normally. Point is the battery power seems ok, the fuel is ok, the stop pull has been reset and the engine started normally.
Next day, engine no crank when starting. Same thing. only solenoid pulling in but no cranking.
An hour later when checked, engine started normally.
The engine starting is not reliable.