• Untitled Document

Join us on March 29rd, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

March Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Terra Nova: Flooding

supersailor

Contributing Partner
Well Guys, I almost lost Terra Nova Thursday. I got a call from the Harbormaster at about 4 pm that she was taking on water fast. By the time I reached the boat ten minutes later, the anchor was resting on the dock. Upon opening her up, the water was up to the bottom of the chart table. I tossed my shoes and the wallet on the deck and went for a quick swim. I found the tops of the sink drains floating loose and the seacock open for the sink drain. I shut the seacock and between two large pumps supplied by the harbor, someone on the manual bilge pump and three of us on a bucket brigade, we had her empty in about twenty minutes. The rest of Thursday was spent washing down the interior with fresh water and taking soggy manuals etc., home to save. Yesterday, the cushions and all savable items were piled into the cargo trailer and serious work was started to save the engine. The crankcase was emptied (lots of water in the crankcase and the oil replaced. All water was removed from the intake manifold and it was thoroughly dried with a heat gun and air compressor. The glow plugs were removed (they needed replacing anyway). The engine was turned over by hand for about a dozen turns and then the starter was tried. No spin. Troubleshooting showed a blown fuse for the starter to relay line ( I have everything fused). Hitting the starter again gave instant spin. We ran the starter for about two minutes with the glow plugs out. Very messy but highly effective for cleaning the cylinders. The new glow plugs were installed. The plugs were activated for 10 seconds then the starter activated. The engine started on the first spin of