• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

engine electrical systems

hdlEric

Member III
Recently, my '87 34, with a Universal Diesel (M25), began not starting when I hit the start button. I replaced the starter button, the glow plug button and the keyed switch; all with quality parts from a marina.

I did mark, and take pictures of how the old switches were wired; NONE had + or - indicated. I hooked the new ones up identical to the old ones, and still NOTHING. The batteries are both putting out 12+ Volts; I have cleaned all grounds and positive terminals on the batteries, engine block and starter solenoid. I have banged on the solenoid......still nothing.

Anybody have any ideas??? I am not good with electrical problems, but have checked the voltage across the screws if the switches. Sometimes I get 12+ across them, but sometimes across the starter button I seem to get a -12V reading, but sometimes it also gives me a +12 reading......is this because I use the wrong probes on the multimeter, or am I hallucinating???? If none of the switch terminals are marked + or -, why should that matter.

Thanks
Howard

Loren Beach

O34 - Portland, OR
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
A puzzlement

To borrow a little bit of script from the "Tappet Brothers" -- some details about your starting procedure might help a long-distance diagnosis.

1- key on
2- hold glow plug switch in for a slow count of 12 to 15 seconds
2a - observe the amp gauge for a large amp draw while the glow plugs are energized

3- depress the starter switch button.
4- engine turns over... slowly? briskly?

*Sidebar: how did it used to start? Did it turn over much before starting up?