• Untitled Document

Join us on April 26th, 7pm EST

for the CBEC Virtual Meeting

All EYO members and followers are welcome to join the fun and get to know the guest speaker!

See the link below for login credentials and join us!

April Meeting Info

(dismiss this notice by hitting 'X', upper right)

Thinking of Purchasing E35-3 1987 Model...Issues that I should look for?

Doug177

Member III
I'm a 63 year old avid S27.9 racer that is looking for a bigger boat for some Great Lakes and Coastal Cruising. The boat needs to be nimble and quick as that is what I am used to with enough amenities to please my wife.

The E35-3 looks good on paper and fits into my $40-$50K price range. I have lots of experience re-coring balsa decks and Awlgripping Hulls but am not very excited about peeling bottoms.

What kind of maintenance issues should I expect on a fresh water E35-3 stored on the hard in the Winter? Any issues with the mast and rigging come to mind? How about keel bolts? What have you folks done to keep your boats going over the years?

Doug Frye
Spring Lake, MI

Christian Williams

E381 - Los Angeles
Senior Moderator
Blogs Author
In general, Ericsons are well built and have stood up nicely. Model 35-3 owners will have specific comments, but by 1987 most construction issues had been corrected and the new backbone, the so-called "Tri-Axial Force Grid", makes for a remarkably stiff hull and good attachments for all equipment.

Cosmetics aside, I would be surprised if any boat of that era didn't need most of the upgrades mine did--perhaps fewer, given the fresh water environment.

You could scan through my blog for an overview of typical work done, rebedding ports, engine upgrades, wiring and so on.

Doug177

Member III
Christian....One moment please

While I spend a couple of days (weeks) reading all of your posts. If the E35-3 is not too terrible, I will join you in Marina Del Rey in a couple of years, cocktails on me. Thank you for all you are sharing.

Doug